Who built the mysore palace and when?

Bo Lubowitz asked a question: Who built the mysore palace and when?
Asked By: Bo Lubowitz
Date created: Fri, Apr 30, 2021 7:59 PM
Date updated: Thu, Jun 23, 2022 5:08 AM


Top best answers to the question «Who built the mysore palace and when»

Henry Irwin, the British consultant architect of Madras state, designed it. The palace was built by the twenty-fourth Wodeyar Raja in 1912 on the site of the old wooden palace that was gutted in the year 1897.

9 other answers

The Mysore Palace, officially known as Mysuru Palace, is a historical palace and the royal residence (house) at Mysore in the Indian state of Karnataka.It is the official residence of the Wadiyar dynasty and the seat of the Kingdom of Mysore.The palace is in the centre of Mysore, and faces the Chamundi Hills eastward. Mysore is commonly described as the 'City of Palaces', and there are seven ...

The current Mysuru Palace – the fourth to occupy this site – was designed by the British architect Henry Irwin after its predecessor was destroyed in a fire in 1897. The imposing building that stands today was completed in 1912, but it is believed that a Mysuru Palace was established as part of a wooden fortress, by the royal family of Mysuru, the Wodeyars, as early as the fourteenth century.

Mysore Palace was built in the year 1912 for the 24th Ruler of the Wodeyar Dynasty and is counted amongst one of the biggest palaces in the country. The construction of the Mysore Palace was orchestrated by the Maharaja Krishnaraja Wadiyar IV referred as "Rajarishi" (saintly king) by Mahatma Gandhi.

Locally in Kannada it is called has Mysuru Aramane. The original palace built of wood, got burnt down in 1897, during the wedding of Jayalakshammanni, the eldest daughter of Chamaraja Wodeyar and was rebuilt in 1912 at the cost of Rs. 42 lakhs.

During the Dussehra celebrations in 1896, the palace however caught fire and was burned to the ground. Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV and his mother commissioned a new palace to be built and they hired a British architect named Lord Henry Irwin. Their mandate was that the new palace should be well…

Mysore Palace. When was it built: Originally in the 14th century, later reconstructed/renovated several times. Who built it: Yaduraya Wodeyar (original one) and Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV (present one) Where is it located: Mysore/Musuru, Karnataka, India.

The current structure that we know as the Mysore Palace was constructed between 1897 and 1912, after the old palace burnt down. The Queen Regent, Kempananjammanni Vani Vilasa Sannidhana and Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV commissioned the British architect, Henry Irwin to build the new palace.

The palace was built by the twenty-fourth Wodeyar Raja in 1912 on the site of the old wooden palace that was gutted in the year 1897. The palace has now been converted into a museum, which treasures the souvenirs, paintings, jewellery, royal costumes and other items, which were once possessed by the Wodeyars.

But what you see now in Mysore is the modern palace built in 1912. As mentioned earlier the first palace was built during 14th century by the then Wodeyar kings. After the fall of Vijayanagar, and the subsequent power shifts in the region, Raja Wodeyar moved the capital to Srirangapatna from Mysore in 1610.

Your Answer